top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary

William M. Scanlon - an amazing man gone too soon


William "Billy" Scanlon was born in New York in 1963 to John and Eileen Scanlon. He was the youngest of three boys and was loved by his older brothers. Billy would later move to Salem, New York with his mother and make his life there.


In Salem, Billy would meet and fall in love with Lori Dunbar. They married in a small ceremony in 1983. Billy would go on to be an intricate part of his community by becoming an active member of the Salem Volunteer Fire Department and a Corrections Officer. During this time, Billy and Lori would have two children, Andrew and Jacqueline, who he loved with everything he had.


Billy was also my godfather and he meant more to me than even he knew. The times I would see him would always begin and end with a big hug which I would remember for the longest time. Although I did not get to see him as often as I would have liked, I always carried the thought of him and the memories we made when we would visit his home. A week during the summer where we would attend the fair, watch the 4th of July parade, and enjoy playing in the large yard. I have memories of the arch in the lawn where my sisters and I would pretend we were getting married. The room we would spend the week in would look out over the side yard. The sound of the tones when the volunteer fire department was called into service.


I will always remember my Uncle Billy as someone who loved me even after my mistakes and who would always make me feel as if I could do better. Knowing how many people loved him and how he affected their lives makes me realize how lucky I was to have him in my life.


54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page